regions, counties, districts

large regions (NUTS1)

  • the large region of Central Hungary equals to the region of Central Hungary and consits of Budapest capital city and Pest county
  • the other two large regions consist of 3 regions (9 counties)


regions (NUTS2)

There are 7 regions:

  • Central Hungary consists of Budapest capital city and Pest county
  • all of the other 6 regions consist of 3 counties


counties (NUTS3)

  • Budapest capital city
  • 19 counties


districts of Budapest and Hungary (LAU1)

  • the 19 counties consist of altoghether 175 districts (6 to 18 districts by counties)
  • Budapest consists of 23 districts (noted by Roman numerals)



large regions regions counties districts
Central Hungary
Central Hungary
Budapest (HU101) 23
Pest (HU102) 18
Central Transdanubia
Fejér (HU211) 9
Komárom-Esztergom (HU212) 6
Veszprém (HU213) 10
Western Transdanubia
Győr-Moson-Sopron (HU221) 7
Vas (HU222) 7
Zala (HU223) 6
Southern Transdanubia
Baranya (HU231) 10
Somogy (HU232) 8
Tolna (HU233) 6
Great Plain and North
Northern Hungary
Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén (311) 16
Heves (312) 7
Nógrád (313) 6
Northern Great Plain
Hajdú-Bihar (321) 10
Jász-Nagykun-Szolnok (322) 9
Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg (HU323) 13
Southern Great Plain
Bács-Kiskun (HU331) 11
Békés (HU332) 9
Csongrád (HU333) 7



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: